{% set baseFontFamily = "Open Sans" %} /* Add the font family you wish to use. You may need to import it above. */

{% set headerFontFamily = "Open Sans" %} /* This affects only headers on the site. Add the font family you wish to use. You may need to import it above. */

{% set textColor = "#565656" %} /* This sets the universal color of dark text on the site */

{% set pageCenter = "1100px" %} /* This sets the width of the website */

{% set headerType = "fixed" %} /* To make this a fixed header, change the value to "fixed" - otherwise, set it to "static" */

{% set lightGreyColor = "#f7f7f7" %} /* This affects all grey background sections */

{% set baseFontWeight = "normal" %} /* More than likely, you will use one of these values (higher = bolder): 300, 400, 700, 900 */

{% set headerFontWeight = "normal" %} /* For Headers; More than likely, you will use one of these values (higher = bolder): 300, 400, 700, 900 */

{% set buttonRadius = '40px' %} /* "0" for square edges, "10px" for rounded edges, "40px" for pill shape; This will change all buttons */

After you have updated your stylesheet, make sure you turn this module off

Special Opps: Funding and More for February 18, 2016

by eCivis Research Team on February 18, 2016
Find me on:

“eCivis Special Opps” is collection of supplemental funding sources, resources, and other opportunities for organizations, faculty and students, community members, and partners that are discovered by our research team while searching for opportunities to include in Grants Network: Research.

The American Horticultural Society’s National Children and Youth Garden Symposium (NCGYS)

The American Horticultural Society invites teachers, garden designers, community leaders, program coordinators, and others involved with connecting kids to the natural world to attend its National Children and Youth Garden Symposium, which is taking place from July 13-16 in Columbia, South Carolina. Participants will explore topics, experience the gardens and programs making plants a vital part of children’s lives, and share ideas, success stories, and inspiration with like-minded colleagues.

Carton2Garden: Helping Grow School Garden Programs

Carton2Garden is accepting submissions that showcase students’ creativity in repurposing milk and juice cartons from their school cafeterias to either build or enhance school gardens. The school that demonstrates the best use of cartons in a school garden will have a chance to win one of 14 prizes, with a grand-prize value of $5,000.

Wells Fargo: Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust

Wells Fargo’s Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award was created to benefit teachers who have inspired their former students to make a significant contribution to society. The award is given to current or former academic faculty members who have inspired their former students to “create an organization which has demonstrably conferred a benefit on the community at large.” Alternatively, the academic faculty member must have inspired their former students to “establish on a lasting basis a concept, procedure, or movement of comparable benefit to the community at large.” Applications must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. ET on June 30, 2016.

Norfolk Virginia Case Study from eCivis

The National Association for Amateur Radio (ARRL) Victor C. Clark Youth Incentive Program

The ARRL intends to provide support for the development of amateur radio among high school-age or younger youth. The program will make mini-grants of up to $1,000 available to groups that demonstrate serious intent to promote participation in amateur radio by youth and enrich the experience of radio amateurs. Preference will be given to projects for which matching funds are raised locally. There are no stated application deadlines for this program.

The KIND Foundation Awards

The KIND Foundation is looking to celebrate people who have gone out of their way to help others in need. Awards will be given to people who have performed extraordinary acts of kindness or demonstrated a selfless commitment to others. The foundation will offer a total of $1 million in awards: five awards of $100,000 each, and one award of $500,000. Individuals may be nominated online for the competition.

Library of Congress Literacy Awards

The Library of Congress will make three awards available for organizations that have made outstanding contributions to increasing literacy in the United States and abroad. The award will also encourage the continuing development of innovative methods for combatting illiteracy and the wide dissemination of the most effective practices. Three prizes will be disbursed: the Rubenstein Prize, which is $150,000; the American Prize, which is $50,000; and the International Prize, which is $50,000. Applications must be submitted by March 31, 2016.

The California Financing Coordinating Committee (CFCC) Funding Fairs

The CFCC will hold funding fairs to provide the public with opportunities to obtain information about currently available infrastructure grant, loan, and bond financing programs and options. Attendance is free, and all attendees will receive copies of slide presentations and additional useful material. Funding fairs are scheduled from April 13, 2016, through September 14, 2016, and will be held across the state.

Energy Sprout Seeking Innovative Sustainable Energy Designs

Energy Sprout is a program that aims at fostering the development and deployment of new, innovative products and business models that will expand the use of sustainable energy in Pennsylvania. The program also intends to foster the development and deployment of innovative community-scale sustainable energy programs/projects in the state. All Pennsylvania-based businesses, registered nonprofit organizations, local government agencies, and residents are eligible to apply for the six awards that are available. Applications must be submitted by 4:00 p.m. ET on May 3, 2016.

New Jersey State Library Best Practices in Early Literacy Award

The New Jersey State Library is accepting applications for the annual Best Practices in Early Literacy Award. The award will honor four outstanding public libraries in New Jersey that currently provide exemplary literacy programs for children from birth to six years of age,  their families, and their caregivers. Awards will include a $1,000 honorarium, a certificate, and promotion of the winning libraries as model programs for others. Applications must be submitted by March 25, 2016.

The Michigan Architectural Foundation’s Evans Graham Memorial Preservation Award

The Michigan Architectural Foundation’s Evans Graham Memorial Preservation Award promotes the practice of historic preservation by encouraging and supporting nonprofit community groups that seek to restore important resources. The program will award $7,500 to an applicant for fees or hard costs of a preservation project located in Michigan. Applications must be received by April 4, 2016.


Topics: Funding News

3 min read time